Pork Chops with Peanut Sauce

Now and again I tend to spend a lot of my waking hours thinking about one of three things:  1) Things I liked to eat as a kid, 2) Things I used to cook for my kids, and 3) Things I still want to try to cook.

Things I liked to eat as a kid get jumbled up in my memories sometimes.  I loved and still love plain old fried potatoes.  Ah, memories.  She also was a great one for things like the Tomato Soup Cake and Oatmeal Cake with broiled frosting.  Oh, I do remember those.  One of my favorite food memories is my Aunt Ruth’s Hamburger Soup.  It was a mix of whatever vegetables were available on hand combined with hamburger, but it almost always included corn and potatoes and I loved the stuff.  I tried duplicating that soup for years but it never tasted as good as hers.  Of course hers had a healthy helping of love stirred into the broth.

Another epicurean delight was a totally blackened and crunchy red hot dog, cooked over a bonfire, stuck on a green switch and buried under a ton of hot dog relish.  I ate the marshmallows we roasted but the hot dogs were the star of any weenie roast.  My uncle Herman and my dad built the fire while we kids searched for a long, green stick that we could spear our dogs on and roast.  These were the dogs that were bright red with food dyes.  I always roasted mine to charcoal black.  Crunchy burnt on the outside and juicy red inside.  That was better than any sit down meal we ever had.

But best of all was a good old fashioned crunchy peanut butter and grape jelly sandwich.  Nowadays, I’m still excited by anything that includes crunchy peanut butter.  Hence the following recipe for pork chops with peanut sauce:

Ingredients:

  • 1 center cut porkchop (4-6 oz)
  • 1 sweet potato, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 1 yellow squash, cut in 1-2 inch chunks

For the sauce:

  • 2 green onions, sliced
  • 1 Tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tsp grated ginger
  • 1 tsp agave syrup
  • 1 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 Tbsp soy sauce
  • sambel oeleck to taste
  • 1/4 Cup water

Mix all the sauce ingredients together and add the sliced green onions and set aside.

PC1

PC2

Brown your chop in a lightly oiled pan.

PC3

Add the vegetables.

PC4

Once they start to brown, reduce the heat to low and pour over the sauce.  Cover and simmer about 20 minutes (depending on vegetable choices and size of cuts).

PC5Plate the meat and vegetables.  You can increase the heat on the sauce and reduce a bit before pouring over the other ingredients if it isn’t as thick as you like.  By itself, this meal is low glycemic, low cholesterol and reduced sodium.  However, (and best of all) it includes my beloved crunchy peanut butter!

About unveiledpdx

Retired Grandma with a passion for food.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pork Chops with Peanut Sauce

  1. SHIRLEY JAN CROZIER says:

    LOOKS DELICIOUS. EASY TO PREPARE & GOOD FOR YOU. YUM YUM. I CAN ALMOST SMELL THE HOT PEANUT BUTTER COOKING IN IT. I LOVE PEANUT BUTTER ALSO, SO THIS ONE I AM GOING TO COOK UP FOR US. . THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS.

  2. cwilkey says:

    Going to try this!!!

Leave a Reply

