Crispy Cauliflower and Spicy Shrimp

Something I’m sure many of you can relate to, sometimes the frig decides what I’m having for dinner or any other meal for that matter.  With that in mind,  I had a head of cauliflower languishing in the frig and crying out to be eaten before it succumbed to brown spots.  I trimmed it up, washed it, and set out to find a way to prepare it that might be something more than the usual.  Most times I eat it raw long before cooking even becomes a thought.  Simply steamed or roasted seemed boring to me at that particular moment.  With a little time on the search engines, I found a recipe for Crispy Cauliflower that sounded pretty tasty.  I decided to up the spices (did I mention that I like bold and spicy hot dishes?) and keep it as healthy as such a lovely vegetable deserves.

Crispy Cauliflower

  • 1 small head of cauliflower, broken or sliced into bite size pieces
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne
  • 1/2 tsp tumeric
  • 1 tsp Madras curry powder
  • 1 and 1/2 Tbsp cornstarch
  • salt and pepper to taste

Heat your oven to 425 degrees and prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Mix the oil, spices and cornstarch together to make a paste.  Toss the cauliflower in the paste to get all the pieces as coated as possible.

Spread the cauliflower on the prepared pan, separating the pieces as much as you can.

Roast for 25-30 minutes, turning once during the roasting time, or until crispy.

I decided to make a meal of the this by adding some Indian spices to a few shrimp to compliment the cauliflower.

Toss 4 oz  of shrimp with:

  • 1/4 tsp Garam Masala
  • 1/4 tsp curry powder
  • 1/4 tsp fenugreek leaves, crumbled
  • salt and pepper to taste

If you don’t have the fenugreek, substitute a 1/4 tsp of dried mustard.  Let the shrimp rest  for at least 15 minutes.

Make a sauce of 1 Tbsp tomato paste, 1 Tbsp lemon juice and 1/4 tsp of ginger paste

Toss the shrimp in a hot pan with a tsp or so of olive oil just until pink.  Be careful not to overcook.  Shrimp can become pretty rubbery.

Stir in your sauce to coat and remove from the heat immediately.  EAT!  I am really sorry that I didn’t get a picture of the plate on this one, but the smells of all those spices caused a complete loss of control and I ate it before I even thought about it.
I chopped a tomato to give me something to counter balance the spices and balance out the meal.

Just an after thought, the cauliflower was still very tasty the next day even though it has lost its crispiness.

About unveiledpdx

Retired Grandma with a passion for food.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

