Crunchy Roasted Chickpeas

I’m a sucker for crunchy, salty snacks.  Give me potato chips, peanuts, or better still, French fries and I’m a goner.  One of my favorite snacks that can still qualify as healthy is roasted chickpeas, especially spicy and crunchy roasted chickpeas.  They are easy to make, full of fiber and protein and perfect for satisfying the munchies.

I prefer to cook my own chickpeas so I can control the amount of salt but you can use canned peas in this recipe.  Rinse thoroughly and drain well before continuing with the remaining steps.

By the way, I seldom buy spice blends, preferring the challenge of making my own.  I make an exception for Dulcet’s Moroccan Cooking Spice & Rub, www.dulcetcuisine.com .  I’ve been a fan since it first entered the market and have found dozens of ways to incorporate it into my meals.  It’s a great addition to beans and chicken and especially good in macaroni and cheese.  But that will be for another day.  Today we are doing chickpeas.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Whether you cook them yourself or rinse some canned peas, you will need about 2 cups of cooked chickpeas, drained.  Blot dry with paper towels and put them in a bowl.

Add 1 and 1/2 Tbsp good quality olive oil and 1 Tbsp Dulcet Moroccan Spice & Rub.  Toss well to coat. There is a bit of sugar and salt in the spice rub so you don’t need other seasonings.

Prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper and spread the beans in a single layer loosely .

Roast for 45-50 minutes, stirring every 15 or 20 minutes, until nice and crunchy.

Let them cool a bit in the pan and then pour yourself a beverage and enjoy!

About unveiledpdx

Retired Grandma with a passion for food.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crunchy Roasted Chickpeas

  1. Jennifer Wells says:

    I find these need to be consumed the same day they’re roasted. Do you have a way to keep roasted chickpeas fresh for a couple of days?

    • unveiledpdx says:

      It’s true Jennifer, I should have mentioned that. These crunchy little babies are best the day you make them. Mine still retained their crunch the next day but the longer you try to store them, the softer they will become. FYI, they are still pretty tasty on salads or soups even if they have totally lost their crunch.

Leave a Reply

